Your Meme, Sir

Somebody tagged me earlier with a meme, but I have lost where I pasted that (I didn’t “write it down,” but pasted it into one of my to-do files) and will have to find the journal entry again. In the meantime, I offer a book meme that is going around the book blogs.

Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror? Fantasy, I suppose, generally. Phil Dick is considered SF, but (trust me) he’s mostly fantasy and philosophy and hermeneutics. . . .

Hardback or Trade Paperback or Mass Market Paperback? I love hardcover books. However, the house is too small. The family is already ranting about books being on every wall. Thus, I get paperbacks (“I want to be a paperback writer”) or sometimes trade-sized. They’re easier to hold up when you’re lying in bed reading, anyway.

Heinlein or Asimov? RAH for RAH! I adore Heinlein. Yes, he has his faults. But don’t we all? You have to consider the timespan he wrote in, and give him a break insofar as all those insipid women who married guys they’d just met and wanted to “catch” (get pregnant) right away. (ack) Did You Know that RAH is (was) a PK (Preacher’s Kid) and that he refused an offer to have his head frozen after death by a cryogenics firm for free because he said he wasn’t sure it wouldn’t interfere with rebirth? Now, that is a true agnostic for you (“agnostic” meaning “I don’t know and I don’t choose up sides as to which side is correct.”)

Amazon or Brick and Mortar? Well . . . I often get things at Amazon or eBay when I can’t get it at Half Price Books or the local branches of the Megastores.

Barnes & Noble or Borders? I get a better discount at B&N, but because Borders let me sign books at four of the DFW locations and basically threw me a party, I patronize them.

Hitchhiker or Discworld? They’re both funny. The Hitchhiker series fell off a bit for me after the first book, though. Pratchett stays at a pretty fair level of goodness.

Bookmark or Dogear? (Should I lie?) Okay, I know it is evil to dog-ear pages. However, I sometimes do that with smaller paperbacks if I already know the book isn’t a keeper. Still don’t lay them on their faces to break the binding, though.

Magazine: Asimov’s Science Fiction or Fantasy & Science Fiction? I really don’t like EITHER of them. I’ve tried. I just don’t enjoy short stories any more. I used to like some of the columns in F&SF, but I haven’t read fiction in magazines for years. Just doesn’t connect. I like novels.

Alphabetize by author, alphabetize by title, or random? *snicker* If I could keep things that organized . . . basically, does it fit on the shelf (as far as how tall it is)? Is the shelf too full already? No? Then slip it on there.

Keep, Throw Away, or Sell? I am one of the last librarian people. Because libraries no longer keep copies of even the greatest classics (they get rid of any book not checked out over the past YEAR) and are now full of CDs and DVDs instead of periodicals and books from years past, I keep copies of the reference books and other books that I think I might re-read. They got the library at Alexandria, but they’re not getting mine. (I have never actually thrown away a book, not even the Da Vinci Code. I also hardly ever bother to take ’em and trade ’em in at the used book stores, for they mostly gave me ten cents per hardcover book the last few times. And I’m talking about recent hardcover books! So I give them away when I give away boatloads of clothes to the charities. I figure charities will sell ’em cheap to people who could not otherwise have them to read. I also often abandon them to hospital rolling bookmobiles and various nursing home libraries. That’s only if they’re not keepers for me.)

Year’s Best Science Fiction series (edited by Gardner Dozois) or Year’s Best SF series (edited by David G. Hartwell)? Those are short stories. So I just don’t “get” most of them. There isn’t enough time for me to get into them. They’re about an incident, and *eh*.

Read with dustjacket or remove it? Well . . . I try not to tear up the dust jacket, if I remember to take it off first.

Short story or novel? Novel. I think I may have already talked about this (*GRIN*)

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? Harry, I suppose.

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? When my eyes start hurting, or I get called away to do something else. Almost never stop at a chapter break. In fact, I really don’t notice chapters when I am reading novels. That’s why it struck me as weird when all those people reading contest entries complained about “long chapters.” Who cares? It’s a textstream. Chapters are artificial divisions.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Both are traditional. It depends on what comes after.

Buy or Borrow? I typically buy now, because stuff I want just doesn’t hit the library. And I do not lend books because people always tear my books up and think nothing of losing them, so I don’t borrow, either.

Book Reviews, Recommendations, or Browsing? Mostly browsing. Sometimes recommendations from friends or off the ‘net.

Lewis or Tolkien? I feel a special kinship with Mr. Lewis.

Collection (short stories by the same author) or Anthology (short stories by different authors)? Get those short stories out of here.

Hugo or Nebula? I don’t care–award me either one.

Golden Age SF or New Wave SF? Eh

Hard SF or Space Opera? Eh. But probably hard SF.

Tidy ending or cliffhanger? Tidy ending. Cliffhangers mean that either the author didn’t know how to end it or she had to divide a longer book into a trilogy.

Morning reading, Afternoon reading, or Nighttime reading? Anytime is good. I read every night, though.

Standalone or Series? Standalone books in general. I don’t find many series books that I love that much. I loved the Donna Parker and Bobbsey Twins series when I was a kid, though.

Urban fantasy or high fantasy? I’ve written urban fantasy, and when it’s done right, it’s really good. High fantasy not so much–it falls into the tropes so easily and gets really cheesy.

New or used? As long as the book looks fairly new and doesn’t have boogers wiped between the pages (I have found this in library books!!), I can pretend that it is new. It’s kind of fun to run across others’ annotations, if they’re witty. I once found this conjecture that Fermat had scribbled in a margin. . . .

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? _The Boyfriend School_ by Sarah Bird. _The Egypt Game_ by Zilpha Keatley Snyder. _Celestial Chess_ (now, who IS that by?) _Dulcinea_ by Shalanna Collins.

That’s enough typing for a Saturday night. Now to get dressed for the Piano Party!

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

