The song is you . . . me . . . and a dog named Boo

One little warning for when/if you go visit those wonderful vintage-music blogs . . . not ALL of the great songs are actually out of print or unavailable on CD. You kind of have to watch that. For instance, there’s a grand “Cocktail Mix” available on which the second song is Bobby Darin’s “Call Me Irresponsible.” Now, at one time that song and the album it’s on (“Love Swings,” I think) went out of print, but *now* “Love Swings” and most of Bobby’s other albums are back in print and payments must be made to the Testamentary Trust for the use of the songs. I think that particular track is also on an Ultra-Lounge CD in the great “Ultra-Lounge” series. Now, *I* personally don’t have to worry, for I own not only the original vinyl album but also the “Love Swings” remastered CD, and so I can play the track without guilt (as I have ripped that track in off my own CD before). But just be warned that you’ve got to watch for that. As with writers, it’s a case of intellectual property being respected.

There’s even an entire album that I ordered on CD after seeing it up for download . . . so don’t D/L “Tamboo!” either. It’s a cool bongos thing from Les Baxter. The CD incorporates two albums, “Tamboo!” and “Skins!” Got the CD from Amazon today and am ripping it into iTunes now.

That said, Hepcat Willy is another squee-worthy 1950s-worshiping shrine! I think the reason I am into the fifties is because there was such a nostalgia movement in the 1970s when I was in middle school/junior high, fueled by the release of “Grease” and the predominance of “Happy Days” and “Laverne and Shirley” on the tube. We even had our eighth-grade spring dance with a 1950s theme. I think “American Graffiti” started it all for us. I am into the sixties because I actually *remember* them. And into the seventies because that’s my early teen years. The eighties, I kind of remember, and the nineties, not so much. *GRIN*

Does anyone out there like lounge music? Am I driving my readership away with these enthusiastic posts? Am I nothing but a Rat Pack-loving, go-go-boots-wearing, Nancy Sinatra-idolizing, Herman Wouk-reading Friend of Darin?*

* Snaps to those who identify source of parodied quotation without Googling. “He’s a disco-dancing, Oscar Wilde-reading, show-tunes-loving friend of Dorothy.”

In other news, it didn’t rain today. Finally.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a comment