The curtain rises? We’ll see

Well, I made an audition tape for POWER OF 10. Thanks to all of you who replied publicly and privately on this issue. I did this because I thought I shouldn’t blow the chance to *do* it, not because I think Drew Carey will fall in love with me and send for me immediately. (Though stranger things might have happened . . . sometimes . . . over thousands of years in the past, there must be SOMEthing weirder than that.)

It wasn’t a snap to do the tape. First I had to think up and memorize my little spiel. I was supposed to have three minutes, and that’s what I got when I talked into the mirror.

Bought a disposable videocamera at CVS, got the teenager next door to point it at me yesterday afternoon while it wasn’t raining, and did my little spiel. It clocked in at 2:30 when they said “Send us a 3-minute tape,” but whatever. I had to trust him when he said the camera battery was running out! I got the camera “developed,” got the DVD last night at six, and then spent the evening trying to make a VHS tape from the DVD. (Hubby had to help, and boy was he not enthusiastic–said my performance sucked, that I looked like I had a hole in my forehead from a shadow from the tree I was standing under, and that I got “too political”* with my answer to their test question. He’s really got control issues–like maybe if I got away, I’d stop being available to make his dinner and wash his socks! *GRIN*)

Anyhow . . . the tape has my squeaky little voice. *But* their guidelines were very specific. Start by giving your name, age, city/state, what you do for a living, and how winning would change your life. Then answer the following question, giving a detailed line of reasoning as to why you chose the answer you did and how you arrived there. It was a question about a political issue of the day. I *had* to answer that specific question, and they *asked* for a somewhat detailed answer, which I gave. (Those who read me consistently can guess how much detail–but it was under 25 seconds!) It certainly does give a high-energy impression, though. Maybe TOO high. Still, I enjoyed doing it, although I’d have liked it to be more polished/pro-produced. So it goes. It’s up to the Fates now. I asked them that if something bad would happen, just don’t have the producers/casting crew pick me . . . that ought to work, oughtn’t it? *wink*

But anyhow, so I did it. I feel a *little* better as far as self-esteem because of it. Now, it has been pointed out to me that possibly hubby and Mama are just trying to keep me from being disappointed and *as a result* of being disappointed acting “sad and angry” for a while. This would, of course, affect THEM, as I couldn’t be my normal Cheery Little Sparrow self* while mourning the rejection. But hey, that’s assuming I’d get rejected! I still may! I may well not make the cut! Or if I do get invited to go, I might not go if there’s any question about everything being taken care of (and having someone to go with me in case of medical problems–I do have that one cousin and one good friend, both of whom travel all the time and who’d probably love to accompany me if hubby absolutely won’t go). But getting picked would still be flattering.

* Ha!

My mother says I should go to a voice coach and lower my voice as Bette Davis did. Hey, why didn’t she come across with the funds to do that back when I was majoring in Drama Major Studies in junior high and high school? I told her that I’d think about it, but that under the stress of answering questions on TV I wouldn’t be able to remember any techniques anyway. I’ll try to talk less like Pee-Wee, anyhow.

If I *did* get to go to the show, it’d be enough just to Be On TV and have the experience of riding around with a CBS producer! I signed a bunch of papers that said I can’t tell anything about the show, though, so I would have to be careful what I journaled about–I’d probably be able to get a staff member to vet my entries if I got to do this, so I’m not going to fret about that. If I go, y’all will get to experience it vicariously with me.

In other news . . . was there other news? Oh, yeah. Um, about Paris Hilton. I thought they were making an example of her and being unnecessarily harsh, when there are drug dealers on the streets who get let out before their sentences even end. I can understand that she might panic and start cracking up . . . my uncle went to the city drunk tank one night, and he couldn’t stop babbling about the tinkles on the floor and what the other jailed people kept saying all night and the way he felt threatened, and he was only there for Four Hours until we could get there and get his butt. Imagine someone who’d never had her feet touch a dirty floor . . . who could fire the household staff for anything she imagined they did . . . and so forth . . . and maybe add in some claustrophobia. Well, I can see why they decided to put her under house arrest instead. I imagine there were a lot of jailed inmates (or whatever you call people who aren’t in PRISON but just in JAIL) who were giving her a difficult time.

But what I wanted to say was that the sarcastic tone that the newscasters and cable news anchors have taken about this is appalling. They seem to think that it’s their place to demand punishment for others, and that they can say mocking and awful things about a person who’s having a nervous breakdown because of being in JAIL for something that is actually a somewhat minor infraction (driving on a suspended license), as I understand it. Well . . . that reflects poorly on YOU, newscasters, not on the person you’re mocking. And what happened to all that Humanitarian Feeling that you have when it comes to other prisoners and other events? It just fell out the window because Paris is rich and privileged? Hey, she’s a person, too. I get so weary when a person claims to be a big-time Christian (or fill-in-the-blank of your humanitarian stripe or other religion that preaches love and understanding) and then wants to see others punished. That is not following the tenets that you say you believe in. At least stop telling everyone how MOVED you are by this and that and how you are in favor of DECENCY and TOLERANCE if you’re not going to apply that across the board. If some animals are more equal than others . . . then stop saying you believe all that other stuff that you don’t practice. Paris Hilton may be a flaming idiot, and Person X might be a pompous ass, but is it right to take glee in their problems and mock them when they get sick? (Even if you say they’re faking it, they may not be–I know from personal experience that panic attacks and endocrine system malfunctions and various emotional states are not “psychosomatic” or controllable by “just taking it on the chin.”) Does that make you a better person . . . or does it lower you to their level, or below?

Media people who’re being so nasty: Think a minute before you condemn everyone and everything for “getting a break” or an exception. Next time, maybe it’ll be you who needs that break or that exception.

*sigh* Well, that’s how I see it, anyroad.

* * *

Smoke On The Water x100!

How 2 B A Writer

“Yesterday they said today was tomorrow,” she observed, “but today they know better.”–Poul Anderson

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

