HEALTH UPDATE: to surgery on Thursday

My husband, Don, is going to undergo a cardiac catheterization on Thursday morning around 8AM Central time. We’d certainly appreciate your prayers and positive thoughts. He’ll be staying in the hospital overnight.

The doctor said they see a blockage in the lower left of his heart, probably the front artery but perhaps more than one, but the cardiologist says that there’s a 70% chance they can just fix it right there with stents (they can place up to four stents, unless I misunderstood him), and only a 30% chance that they’ll need to go do a bypass or more serious surgery. My focus will be on wanting him to not die or have a stroke during or after the procedure and to get him home safely without any need to do further surgery such as a bypass. My mother is all worried about him “becoming an invalid,” but I suspect she’s more worried about his not being able to go back to work. Software weenies don’t have to do heavy lifting, so I’m really not concerned about that so much.

He’s all bloated up with gas right now and has been for two days, since he first got the news that he’d have to talk further to the doctor after the test. Now he’s worried that he can’t get rid of the stomach pains and churning (most likely from anxiety and nerves) in time to be able to lie flat for the procedure and for four to six hours afterward (they have you lie flat so as not to tear that groin incision they’ve done in the major artery.) He’s also nauseated, but then so am I. I think he has been neglecting his health for some time, so I’m not totally surprised, but I’m still worried.

We’re going to postpone Mama’s tests until sometime next week when hubby’s well. My knee is swelling up and getting stiff, but that’s because I’m up on it and have no time to spend staying off of it . . . having to climb stairs and walk across parking lots and scurry from place to place inside the giant hospital two days in a row has been too much for it, because I had overexerted and even twisted it over the Christmas non-festivities. I need to go ice it down for fifteen minutes.

Thank you all for your kind comments and positive prayers. Also, those sentences y’all sent for my all-stolen novel really rock! I haven’t had time to sit down and respond to it all, but man, it looks as if it would be lots harder to do than a novel that you write yourself. Gotta hand it to the people who came up with this “steal first, apologize later” stuff. They’re working a lot harder than they would by just writing it all themselves.

However, I’m still going to steal this bit from ‘s LJ: “It was raining lots today, so we eschewed the Zoo in favour of the Book Barn, where I fell off a ladder while hunting for books about the Empress Maria Theresa.” How could I resist? (It’ll have to go into a scene during a Texas twister.)

And a note to several online sites: FREE VERSE you can rail against if you like, but it is NOT THE SAME AS BLANK VERSE! BLANK VERSE ::= unrhymed iambic pentameter. You know, like most of Shakespeare’s plays, Milton’s PARADISE LOST, and so forth. It is not the same as those “shaped poems” such as the one consisting of iteratins of the word “frog” and shaped like a frog. So don’t wax eloquently against the awfulness of blank verse and how you think it’s just a prose sentence broken up and scattered around the page. That’s free verse, and some of it I like fairly well. (Guilty pleasure? You decide.)

Oh, and hurray Sen. Hillary Clinton for calling her worthy opponent “Barack” in tonight’s debate. He calls her “Hillary,” and frankly I have been thinking that the men in the race are getting called by their last names and she’s getting called by her first name like a secretary . . . not fair. Either they’re all “Mr. Smith” or they’re all “Bubba.” Otherwise, it’s like having the female contender called “Honey” and “Little Lady” while the others are all “Dr. Strangelove” and “Mr. Darcy.” Boo! So this is a step forward that puts the spotlight on the subconscious sexist treatment of women that still happens sometimes.

For the record, I would be flattered if someone called me “Honey” and “Chickie,” because mostly they refer to me as “that old battle-axe” or “that crazy 3@$%*&!! with the yappy Pomeranian in her arms.” However, in the Presidential race and other such venues, it’s better to put everyone on equal footing, even when it comes to the subconscious stuff.

(If you don’t think there’s any sexism remaining today–and I’ll grant there’s a LOT less than when I was a preteen and Ms. magazine first came out–consider this. You always hear jokes such as, “It was so cold that Farrah’s faucets froze,” but you never hear ones like, “It was so cold that Barack’s Obama froze.” See how silly? Yes, that’s silly. But so is the first one, which made the rounds back in the “Charlie’s Angels” days and irritated me because of its demeaning premise in the first place. [It would be nice if I could think of a more recent sexist joke, but my mind is too tired and it can only bring to the surface familiar old stuff it has known for years, such as Norm Crosby’s old Vegas act and jokes from “Laugh-In.” And Robert Benchley lines, but they’re never funny out of context.] We may never get rid of sexism and patronizing remarks completely, but at least we can make people aware that it happens.)

That’s just an academic observation, though. In my current frame of mind, I really don’t give a 3@$%$^!!* if sexism and every other sin runs rampant across the Universe and everyone gets a ticket. All I care about is that I don’t lose everything over the next couple of days or weeks. I know my karma must be the pits, but let’s hope I’ve worked off at least some of the worst of it so that we come out of this healthier and on a better path. I promised the family that we’d go on a vacation over my birthday weekend in March because we need to do something fun and go somewhere other than the inside of offices, and we will. Keep a good thought for us.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

