PERSONAL: When it rains, it pours

[Don’t wanna do an LJ-cut because that’s a hassle to read and all, but I wanted to signal up front that if you read only for craft/business/ranting, this is a “personal” entry.]

I’m having some scary bleeding (too much info for you MALES of the species, but I went through menopause early when I had the pituitary radiation and surgery, and now I’m having some unexpected bleeding–women will understand) and it has gone on twice now this week, so I’ll be going to the doctor on Thursday and mentioning it. My grandmother died of uterine cancer, so that makes me nervous (but it could be another hormonal disturbance, fibroids, or nothing.) If you have any extra good thoughts, please send them my way.

In keeping with her tradition of having to be sicker than I am, my mother is having rectal bleeding and blackish stools. She had colon cancer five or six years ago and was scheduled to have a yearly follow-up in February, but she kept putting it off so she could go see my aunt for a week (which she still hasn’t done, and now my aunt’s air conditioner and fridge have gone out, so she CAN’T go for a while). Ten years ago she had an ulcer and bled quite a bit (had to have a blood transfusion), and earlier this year they put her on meds to heal the ulcer, as they thought it had come back, so we’re hoping THAT is what this is. *sheesh* I have two calls in to her doctors, but Wednesday afternoon is their golf time and their offices are closed. She wanted me to put her on “the prayer list,” and this is the closest thing I have to one. She really needs your good thoughts. (As cranky as she is, I am used to her, so. . . .)

Still haven’t heard from the Benchley contest people, which leads me to believe someone else won . . . but we haven’t gotten a press release yet, so everyone’s still biting nails over it. The website *now* says as late as July 15th for the announcement of the winners. I have to stay alive until at least then.

And we have mice in the courtyard! But live and let live.


(The neighbors around the block from us–they have the white picket fence thing going full force!)

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

