Love network–Happy Telethon! And answers to the quiz (easiest quiz ever)

We’re about to settle down to some serious telethon viewing and JL adulation. Our local affiliate isn’t carrying it until tomorrow, so we’re watching WGN Chicago. I hate that the Love Network has shrunk(en) so much. I know time is more expensive now, the economy is bad, and all sorts of things factor into it, but less time on the air means less money. Maybe not. . . .

Although Jerry’s Love Network is smaller nowadays, mine keeps getting larger. And I’m grateful! My Love Network includes YOU, my readers. Happy Labor Day weekend and happy telethon!

Answers to the silly too-easy quiz from last entry under the cut.

Sherman, let’s get into the Wayback Machine
A. Okay, Mr. Peabody

(At least *I* think that’s the most likely answer.) If you were a regular viewer of “Bullwinkle,” you got this one.

Name the Fab Four!

Come on . . . nobody missed this one. But who were those other guys??
B. Micky, Davy, Mike, Peter — the Monkees
C. Abdul “Duke” Fakir, Roquel Payton, Theo Peoples, Ronnie McNeir–the Four Tops
D. Nan, Bert, Freddie, Flossie–the Bobbsey Twins!
F. Athos, Porthos, Aramis, D’Artagnan–the Three Musketeers and their loyal friend
G. John, Paul, George, Ringo–yeah, you got it!

John Lennon got into trouble for saying that the Beatles were more popular than. . . .
B. Jesus. I thought that was pretty tacky myself, but hey, he was just poppin’ off. Some people really got their knickers into a knot over it.

You know you’re semi-good-lookin’. . . .
B. And on the streets again.
Lyric from Van Halen’s song “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love.” This guy I used to go with LOVED the song because he thought that the girl who introduced us (good friend of mine) had snubbed him (she DID say that she wouldn’t hold the other end of a 20-foot rope if he were holding the opposite end. . . .), and he thought she thought herself quite purty. She IS, but anyhow, it’s still funny, in a twisted sort of way, to remember him belting out the song with the radio in the car when the song first came out.

C. You little angel, you–This is from SEVERAL songs, including one by the “Archies.”
E. You probably think this song is about you–
“You’re so vain”
G. But the mirror crack’d and so did I–out of one of my books. This explains why I can’t get published.

What builds strong bodies 12 ways?
D. Wonder Bread–at least I think that’s right

Before he was Yusuf Islam, he was…
A. Cat Stevens
G. Cassius Clay–he changed into Muhammad Ali

Pogo, the comic strip character, said, “We have met the enemy and…”
B. He is us

Good night, Gracie.
D. Good night, George . . . OR
G. Bye! *waving*
Gracie Allen never really said, “Good night, Gracie,” when George said, “Say good night, Gracie,” did she? Maybe she did. . . .

You’ll wonder where the yellow went…
G. When you brush your teeth with Pepsodent

Man, that one was before MY time, I think. Bob Hope was the spokesman for Pepsodent for years, says my mother.

Before he was the Skipper’s Little Buddy, Bob Denver was Dobie’s friend…
D. Maynard G. Krebs. WORK—eeeek!! I love Dobie Gillis. I still think it works today. Wish they’d re-run it. And Dwayne Hickman is hot.
B. Randolph Scott–a cowboy actor
C. Steve Reeves–Superman
E. Eddie Haskell–the smarmy and evil “friend” of Wally Cleaver in “Leave it to Beaver”
F. Danny Rugg–the bully in the Bobbsey Twins series books
G. The Fonz–aaaaay!

Liar, liar…
C. Pants on fire

Meanwhile, back in Metropolis, Superman fights a neverending battle for truth, justice, and…
F. The American way

Hey, kids! What time is it?
C. It’s Howdy Doody Time

Again, before my time. My time was the Banana Splits and Scooby-Doo.

Lions and tigers and bears…
E. Oh my

Bob Dylan advised us never to trust anyone…
D. Over 30

I know *I* can’t be trusted.

NFL quarterback who appeared in a television commercial wearing pantyhose?
C. Joe Namath

I remember this. He was also a fold-out centerfold for “Cosmopolitan” magazine. He held his hands over his naughty bits, however. Things weren’t THAT upfront yet back in the 70s.

Brylcreem:
G. A little dab’ll do ya

I found my thrill…
G. On Blueberry Hill

Before Robin Williams, Peter Pan was played by
B. Mary Martin

*Everybody* got that haircut just before first grade. Not me, but all the other crazy girls.

I wonder, wonder, who:
D. Who wrote the book of love?

I’m strong to the finish…
B. Cause I eats me spinach
I’m Popeye the sailor man!

When it’s least expected, you’re elected, you’re the star today…
A. Smile, you’re on Candid Camera

What do M & M’s do?
F. Melt in your mouth, not in your hand

When Samantha just couldn’t stand it any more, she twitched her. . . .
C. Nose

Hee!

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

