Silly meme–kicks are for trids

Two names you go by:
1. Shalanna 2. Hey You–Yeah, You

Two things you are wearing right now:
1. {unmentionables} 2. Jeans

Two of your favorite things to do:
1. Read 2. Play the piano

Two things you want very badly at the moment:
1. To be published by NYC (*yawn* I know, YOU’VE HEARD ALREADY)
2. To lose weight (it’s hopeless–I had to be taken off Medifast again a couple of months ago because of elevated liver enzymes, and I can’t lose on anything else, and I’m afraid of surgery so no lapband like everyone else gets, pout)

Two favorite pets you have had/have:
There is no way to name a favorite . . . but we have Teddybear now, a Pomeranian. We’ve got others waiting on the Rainbow Bridge to Heaven–Wolfie (our first Pom), Mischief, Tuxedo, Chip & Dale, Angel, Big Boy, Lucy (all cats of unknown lineage–“alley”)–oh, and ALL THOSE TROPICAL FISH. I hope I get an aquarium or pond to keep them in, up there. Otherwise the cats will really go crazy.

Two things you did last night:
1. Write on the 3rd Jacquidon novel *sigh* *why do I waste time*
2. Shop for groceries at Wally World (they’re remodeling, and it was a mess. Should’ve just gone to Kroger.)

Two things you ate today:
1. A cracker 2. That’s it–I need to go make a salad or something

Two people you talked to today:
1. Mama 2. Hubby

Two things you plan on doing tomorrow:
1. Get the hell outta Dodge (but it’ll never happen)
2. Get a blank board book so I can make that “Antique Schoolbook” art project

Two of the longest trips taken in the last 5 years:
HAW!! HAW!!! How far exactly to Safeway . . . Macy’s . . . Stamp Asylum
1. To Grapevine Mills Mall, Grapevine, TX (still only about 30 mins from here)
2. To Sherman, TX, 61 miles away (I’m sure we went for Christmas a couple of years ago)
That’s pathetic. I wanted to go *sob* to New York *wail* for that Benchley thing *OPENLY GOING WAAAAH*, and I still hope we can get to Carmel/Big Sur/Pacific Grove someday while I can still walk without a solicitous companion (i. e., before I turn 100) (by the way, that’s right: it’s “i. e.,” with the dots and the comma, because it’s an abbreviation for “id est,” which is Latin for “that is.” Please note that I have always known this, and that most published authors DO NOT DO IT THAT WAY, including two who are coming to FenCon and whom I might meet there if I get out and go, and it’s NOT FAIR that they can get published without knowing this. I may tell them so. Then again, maybe I’ll just lurk on the sidelines and avoid being termed a stalker.)

Two of your favorite holidays:
1. Christmas
2. My birthday (that’s a holiday, isn’t it? If not, let’s say Hallowe’en, and then the Balance of Preferences will be even–one for God, one for . . . um . . . dressing up like a fairy princess or Wendy the Good Witch.)

Two of your favorite beverages:
1. Diet RC Cola 2. Wassail

(I should’ve filled this out as Dennis and had him fill it out as me. That woulda been far more entertaining! Favorite beverage: Bombay Sapphire . . . favorite holiday: election day in Esperantujo)
# # #
We leave you with linksalad (a molded jello-type thing that has obvious banana slices floating in it, no less):

Ten reasons skirts are better than pants.

Your belly dance zodiac thing.

What I’m missing–the banquet THIS WEEKEND for Benchley freaks (where I was to get a medal, WAIL)

The zine scene.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

