Coming attractions and (amusing?) musings

I’ve just contacted an author about doing an e-mail interview with her and posting it here on my weblog/journal. I don’t know whether she’ll be interested, but I think it would be fun for both of us. The reason I contacted her is that she says she has only been writing for four years, and she just wrote her first YA novel this year, and as soon as she sent it out she got offers from three agents (and accepted a high-powered one). Her story sort of illustrates my theory about how those of us who have been writing a long time are not as likely (for whatever reason) to make good with today’s agents and editors, so I was interested in hearing the details. If she has been scribbling for years and just didn’t write *seriously for publication* until 2004, that would be a little different. But if she really just sat down and decided to start writing, that’s a real success story. Talentville! I love to meet fellow geniuses, so if she agrees, it should be a fun read.

What do y’all think? Is that something you’d like to see more often around here? Or would you only be interested in reading my usual crap and whining? We aim to please. (You aim, too, please. *splat*)

In other news, you know you’re hopelessly old and fossilized the day you pass up the “Juniors” floor and go over to the Alfred Dunner “Grandma” matching outfits. **sigh** I can’t help it . . . the Alfred Dunner proportioned-short pants in the nicer fabrics fit me perfectly and can be washed *and aren’t jeans*. Jeans have started to overheat me in certain areas (areas that will not be specified in a family blog) and make chafed spots, which cannot be tolerated. Ick! TMI, even for me! But anyway, it’s not that they’re too tight–they’re stretch jeans, and that could be part of it, but the pure denim Wranglers that are not stretchy are now too stiff/unbendable to wear on this knee that was broken and still has a few issues. *sob*

But I do NOT wear those matching Granny tops. I wear my non-polyester Dunner-drawers with fashion tops from various up-to-the-minute stores. I even walked through Saks Fifth Avenue (Dallas Galleria) today in order to reach Macy’s and pick up my clunky old Easy Spirit Romy running shoes (they didn’t have my size at Collin Creek, our nearest mall). Saks is SO GORGEOUS. I could easily spend $30K in a week (as happens in the film _Brewster’s Millions_, remember?) there alone! I did pick up Kiehl’s facial moisturizer, toner, and hair stuff (Creme with Silk Groom, which is a great detangler to use when you have static electricity and heater-dried hair). So now I have a Saks totebag to carry my Penneys Dunner-duds around in.

Also, hubby and I were talking about a co-worker of his who has a really challenging romantic situation, and I mentioned that I didn’t understand how a person could get involved in such a way. Somehow the discussion turned to marriage (oh, yeah–the lady involved in this odd situation has announced that she will get the guy to marry her, but hubby assures me that said gentleman has told the ENTIRE OFFICE that he has no intention of doing so), and hubster said, “You can’t understand because you’re from a different world. We’ve been married forever.” He went on to explain All About Life In The Big City These Days to me (which was sort of amusing, like your dad sitting down to explain the Fax o’ Life when you’re already six months pregnant, but anyhow it was cute of him).

“You talk as if we’re ancient! I feel as if I’m about to turn to dust any minute!”

“Well, what I meant was, everyone we know has been married for a LONG TIME.”

Not really, but I did see what he meant. We are old fogies with old-fogie friends. **sigh** But hey, we have staying power.

I suppose I should go to bed. I spent part of the day working on the new mystery, so that’s good.

But I’m having a lot of visual symptoms of diabetes, which is bad. *sigh* Going back on the strict Medifast stuff again tomorrow to bring the sugars down. I only hope that’s ALL that this is. I’m sure it is. Nothin’ to it.

*confidence*

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

