The Nuge! In front of the Alamo! What am I doing not THERE?

I should’ve been paying attention. Today I could have driven down to San Antonio for that Tea Party Protest Rally with Glenn Beck and TED NUGENT XOXOX. But not because I particularly believe in the cause or whatnot . . . I haven’t analyzed the taxation changes sufficiently to take a stand, and I am still on the fence about our terrible situation in overspending the taxpayer’s money that hasn’t even been paid in yet. But!! I would have wanted to be there to see all the Alamo historians talk (my friend Elaine Vetter’s sister used to be the Alamo historian–the lady who spoke onstage today might have been her, in fact!) and to hear Ted Nugent playing the Star-Spangled Banner in the manner of Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock! Rawr!

[EDIT: I knew it! Somebody YouTubed it. Here ’tis!

(This link will take you away from LJ. I didn’t embed it–I just linked)]

[EDIT2: Just thought o’ something that perhaps not everyone has noticed yet.

Isn’t it WONDERFUL that our conservative brothers and sisters have now realized that peaceful protest and demonstrating against decisions by our government are patriotic and laudable, when a while back it was totally unpatriotic and shameful/sinful and all but criminal when WE semi-progressive-types were doing it against THEIR majority . . . but now that it is THEM, aha, the right of peaceful assembly is once again invoked and loved! Funny, ain’t it, how that works? I had to laugh. This is exactly why I support their right to do it–so later on, I could do it if I needed to! Not that I am all that progressive or liberal any more, or that I am all that conservative, either, but I have ALWAYS supported your/my/our right to peaceably assemble and protest! That is indeed a Constitutional cornerstone of this republic.]

I am not in line with Ted Nugent on many issues, but what we have in common is being nonconforming individualists, opinionated SOBs, and native Texans. I wouldn’t want to shoot anything with ANYthing, let alone a bow and arrow (even though I am 1/16 Choctaw . . . they are peaceable–you’re thinking of the Cherokee, who are more warlike); I think he was unreasonably hard on Barack and Hillary and has said some things I completely disagree with; I don’t even like ALLLL of his political views *grin*, but I tell you the man is an amazing guitar player. And still has long hair! Woo!

Someone will YouTube that segment off of FoxNews eventually so you can hear the Star-Spangled Banner. (DONE–SEE ABOVE!)

And if you don’t know the history of the Alamo, you should find out. It’s fascinating. The original “draw a line in the sand” challenge went out to Santa Anna from William Travis. (Wondered why there’s a Travis street in every Texas town? And a Bowie, a Crockett, a Lamar? It’s all there in Texas history.)

“Every government interference in the economy consists of giving an
unearned benefit, extorted by force, to some men at the expense of
others.”~~Ayn Rand

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

