All clear of predators inside–so far

Opinions differ as to what species of owl tried to become our Close Personal Pet.


A couple of people suggested it must be an adult screech owl. Texas does welcome the Eastern and Western variations of screech owl . . . but this one didn’t say a word the entire time. *(grin)* We considered this, but on examination of the photos online, our owl doesn’t have the markings of the various screech owls in the gray or red phases. Hubby put one of the clearer photos on his iPhone and enlarged it and showed it around to his friends and co-workers; one of them, a birder and amateur naturalist, says it’s a baby Great Horned Owl (!) because of the shape of the ears and beak and the way the feathers go. Eeeek!! All, I’m sure, endangered. Leave it to my garden to attract endangered species.

Mama suggests I send the best photos and one of the videos to WFAA Channel 8 and CNN, both of which have “your photos and news stories” categories for viewer news. That might result in a positive ID and plans as to how we can stop WORRYING. I drove down to the park and to the Office Max parking lot (where there’s a greenspace) for the dog to “go” yesterday, but this morning we let him into the courtyard with both hubby and me (yes, “me” is the proper form, not “I,” and ABSOLUTELY NOT “MYSELF,” the reflexive pronoun) watching.

Several friends have sent me the mythology of a visit from an owl. Most of the myths say that an owl sighting is a portent of death. Mama said, in a depressed tone, “It’s either me or Aunt Jean, and probably me, because I have too much wrong with me.” Alarmed, I told her, “No! Fred forwarded a message from a friend of his who says JUST THE OPPOSITE. She says the goddess Athena herself becomes an owl and flies, so how could THAT be a BAD omen?” She and the dog, and hubby and I for that matter, are absolutely off limits to the reaping process, especially until I get to do that workshop and several other fun things that are coming up towards the end of the year–so I will go with Fred’s friend’s interpretation.

Thank you for allowing me this opportunity to dispel a common misunderstanding about the owl being a harbinger of death. Utter nonsense – the owl is no more a symbol of death than is a fluffy bunny.

In certain ancient cultures (China, Egypt, India) the owl was revered as the guardian of the afterlife, which may be at the root of these rumors. Ancient Athenians made the owl an emblem of wisdom, with the image of the owl on their coinage. To the ancient Greeks, the owl is a symbol of Athene (Roman Minerva), who is goddess of foresight & knowledge. Nocturnal creatures such as owls are symbolic of inner-knowing, psychic ability, and intuition.

If an owl has visited you, an incredible gift has been bestowed. Bear in mind that animals are only called to those who share the same energy. In other words, you hold within you some of the very same symbolic attributes the owl represents.

•intelligence
•brilliance
•perspective
•intuition
•quick-wit
•independence
•wisdom
•protection
•mystery
•power

To illustrate, you may have abilities to know things that others do not know. It may be likely you have very strong intuitive abilities that can be fine-tuned. Further, you may be strong-willed and/or have a protective side to you. I can already tell from your email that you are mentally sharp – so we know you have this in common with the owl.

This owl sighting may be a message for you to develop your education further. Or, the owl may be trying to tell you to develop your intuition further. You perhaps should use your insight on a current situation at hand.

Owls also show themselves as a sign of warning (no, not of death). You simply need to pay close attention to people around you – owls are incredibly perceptive – you are probably perceptive too – use your powers of perception around new people you may meet. Not everyone is as nice or “cool” as they seem to be.

Those who carry an owl feather are also said by First Nation (Native American) Plains “Indian” tribes to be protected against evil spirits and able to see through deception and con artists/fraud, and will have insight into people’s true motivations.

Well . . . OK. Maybe I feel a little better.

There’s only one thing I’m worried about.

WHERE did the owl go poo-poo?! And tinkle? Don’t you think it must have had to, well, you know? While it was here? I refuse to go examine my curtains (*my custom curtains with the buttonsssssss*). And we just won’t look behind the sofa.

Unless a funny smell should arise. If that happens, I’m calling Clint Eastwood. Carmel is my dream destination, and I’m sure he has a guest room where the dog and I can stay until someone cleans out the owl dung.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

