My aunt’s in the hospital

My aunt Jean (the one who’s 86) was taken to the hospital yesterday in an ambulance. Her day nurse (who comes four mornings a week to help her bathe and so forth) came in to find her gray-looking and drowsy, and called for the ambulance. Aunt Jean had been sickly last week, but her symptoms were so much like my mother’s from the change in her Glucophage medication (hurry-up going to the bathroom, stomach and intestinal cramps and discomfort, gas, the blahs, weakness, dizzy spells, general malaise) that we weren’t too concerned. Last Thursday her daughter made her go spend the night at her own house and really wanted her to go to the hospital, but by morning she said she was “a lot better” and demanded to be taken home. *sigh* These tough old part-Choctaw bats are ~tough~.

Anyway, we started getting ready yesterday in case we needed to run up to Sherman, where she was checked right into the hospital for tests to be run, but I needed to wait for some documents that were being UPS-overnighted to us. The UPS guy didn’t get here until 7 PM, of course. I did get some things packed for myself, but Mama is always balky, so we don’t have her things packed (though it won’t take too long).

This morning we called and heard what the doctor said. “Plan to be here indefinitely,” he said. “We’re going to consult on a treatment plan.”

My aunt has blood poisoning. (Sepsis or septicemia. Possibly from advanced bladder/kidney infection.) And an ulcerated colon.

She’s had diverticulitis for some time, but she was supposed to be controlling it with her diet, such as not eating seeds and nuts (and no Pecan Delight ice cream). We suspect she cheated or got some take-out food that had seeds/nuts. Hmm.

The main concern, of course, is the blood poisoning. No wonder she felt so bad and actually admitted to her daughter that she was scared!

My mother NEEDS to go up there, because this stuff can be un-fixable. But she’s not ready to face the facts, I suspect. She’ll rouse sometime tonight and decide we’re leaving tomorrow, I’ll bet. Until then, I’m getting things wrapped up so I can bail.

I can take hubby’s laptop, maybe . . . he does use it for work. I need to take along a larger flat screen, though, because I have to have large fonts to see stuff. If not, I’ll be offline for a couple of days until I figure out a way to connect. It does mean I can work on SONG FROM THE HEART, which may get a new title. I’m going to workshop it at a David Farland/David Wolverton workshop in July, so I need to write some kind of synopsis. Synopsis time is when you figure out you don’t know what your book is about.

Sheesh. Yesterday I saw a black dragonfly, too. It stared right back at me, took off, made a circle, and landed again on the bamboo stick. I don’t even want to know what it is an omen of.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

