pod people and iPod people

Does anyone here know much about iPods?

Apple seems to be telling me that there’s no way for me to stop the iPod video 60GB or the iPod Touch that were stolen from getting updates to apps and/or buying more music. Supposedly the thieves can continue to buy things under my name. But I changed my Apple Store password that very day . . . so shouldn’t that mean they would get an error and couldn’t use up the $55 in gift card credit that I had on the account? (The gift card number was typed in and got credited to the account some time ago.) Also, they say you can re-download apps and so forth once you buy a new iPod Touch. But you have to do something in iTunes. I am thinking that I will only replace the iPod Touch (and not the iPod video) because I don’t really need them both and because we have a $500 deductible on what can be replaced. I don’t know how to fix this in iTunes on the computer, because when I get the new one, it’ll think I still have the other two. Back to the iLounge to find a thread discussing all of this.

Oh, the van came back! It was immaculate and in beautiful condition, except they’d forgotten to replace the left headlamp/lens, which is all one sealed unit. Water is getting into the cracks that the guy made. It looks as if somebody hit the headlight with a hammer or something. Anyhow, they will order the part. We left Massey Cadillac Body Shoppe very happy. Then we got to the Ford dealer to have them check as to why the “Check Trac Ctrl” light wouldn’t go off. Well . . . three days later we have a new chip and a new part-of-a-chip and a new power steering pump, to the tune of $3200 out of MY pocket (actually, my credit card) because (1) the warranty just went out in April and (2) this has to have been something that was about to happen anyway, as there is no sign of physical tampering with the chip or housing, and so we can’t blame it on Bad Guy. AAAARGHH. However, the ABS system was not communicating with the chip, so it wasn’t working as designed. We picked up the van AGAIN this morning . . .and there was a horrid stink of grease/oil inside because the mechanic people had stomped all over the front floor mats and carpet with dirty shoes. I insisted that we go right back (as soon as I realized what was going on) and make them clean it. My family protested that I am evil and too picky and just a be-yotch, but I said that the van had been immaculate coming from Massey and that I expected them not to mess it up, even if we COULD “try to clean it ourselves and not make a fuss.”

We got there expecting to be told it would be Monday before they could clean it up, but the service rep (after arguing that “it was that way when you brought it, because my guys would never do that”) finally said, “IF it’s grease, this stuff I have here will clean it,” and he proceeded to clean it off. Sheesh! He obviously gets a lot of people showing up to complain, or why would he keep the stuff at his desk?! Anyhow . . . it looks like it’s cleaned off now. We shall see what it looks like when it’s completely dry.

The van handles completely differently. Apparently the power steering assist hasn’t worked for YEARS, because it used to steer like a semi pulling cattle cars and now it’s a fingertip touch to cross 3 lanes. The brakes used to stomp just so, and now they go almost to the floor very softly. I’ll have to learn all over again.

But it IS like a new car. Except for the new car smell!

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

