Good news!

Just a note to let you all know that late yesterday our doctor told us that my husband’s liver sonogram showed fatty liver disease (which isn’t a great thing in itself, but thrilled US because it could explain his problems), but NO TUMORS. The doctor told me that what I had seen on the picture that was white like an egg and that she measured was a heart valve, and that they always measure heart valves to see if they are clogged, and this one wasn’t (yay!)! (He said I shouldn’t be watching and shouldn’t try to figure stuff out because the Big White Doctor will tell all and knows all. I hit him.) This was such a relief. My chest finally felt unburdened for the first time in days.

The doctor said there could still have to be a liver biopsy (which hurts, so hubby doesn’t want to have it) because they need to judge how bad the fatty liver disease is. Both hubby’s sister and his brother were diagnosed with fatty liver disease over the past three months–weird! And they hadn’t told us because it’s not really something you send out telegrams about. But it’s genetic and familial, or can be. Also, the doctor is fairly sure based on the bloodwork they did Monday (which the lab had JUST faxed over) that Don doesn’t have hemachromatosis, but they said that’s not for sure until they get the DNA back in 2 weeks . . . however, based on those numbers the doctor doesn’t really expect to see hemachromatosis. Yay!

But anyhow, hubster was really relieved as well. I called his cell phone immediately to tell him (he was at work in a meeting), and he got all choked up and started crying. He was half convinced that he had the Bad Thing and that everything was going down the tubes. But anyhow, yay! He came home from work and picked us up, and we all went directly to the Golden Corral pigout-land to celebrate. Officially, we only ate things that are on the South Beach diet because the doctor’s office also read me the riot act about my own A1c of (ahem) 11.7, which they claim is “coma territory.” I believe stress has had a LOT to do with it (from the carjacking to the ailing aunt to the other stuff), as well as the cookie contest and all the taste-testing that I was required to do.

When we got home from the Corral, I was too pooped to post. But I wanted to thank all of you for your prayers and positive thoughts. It really makes a difference, as we feel uplifted whenever that happens. Thank you for caring!

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

