Last Friday’s Five

Last Friday’s Five Questions for LJ.

What is your favorite type of food? (i.e., Italian, Mexican, etc.)
I love Italian food, but now that I have to avoid tomatoes, onions, and most pasta, it’s kind of ruined. *Until we learn how to tolerate acid again* I like Tex-Mex, but, again, there are a lot of flour tortillas, and that means CARBS. (sigh) We like fajitas when we do a special lunch. I think the Blue Mesa Grill’s Adobe Pie is wonderful.

What is the name of your favorite restaurant?
It’s really a tie between the Blue Mesa Grill and the old Taste Of Italy, which has closed all its locations except the one that’s farthest from us. I used to love The Filling Station in Dallas for its ambiance. We sat under the neon pegasus and made jokes out of the names of the menu items. A High-Beam was a fancy burger, a Low-Beam the low-fat counterpart, Hi-Test was a spiked drink of some sort, Nuts and Bolts were fried mushrooms and fried zucchini slices, and a Lube Job . . . well, all the names on the menu were amusing. It was located in a 1920s service station building, both bays. Alas, it is long gone.

Do you like fast-food?
Ugh. We end up eating fast food too often because of time constraints and the frustration of not being able to eat so many things. Hamburgers without the bun or the pickles or the onions or any ketchup seem to be OK for all three of us, but ugh . . . grease! I used to adore the personal pan pizzas you could get at various places, but now I can’t have the tomato sauce or any of the really good toppings. It’s nice that fast food exists so that people on the run can get something, though.

Do you prefer to be alone or in a group when you eat out?
I wouldn’t eat out alone. “Look at that fat slob! Nobody will even eat at the same table as her for fear she’ll slurp up their plates. She has no shame!!” I prefer to be in a group. Even when the group gives constant recommendations on what I should or should not be eating. I ordered a Cobb salad with Caesar dressing and a few subtractions the other day, and some of the yahoos in the peanut gallery said that it was more fattening than eating the burgers that they were getting. I needed the roughage, though.

Do the waiters/waitresses at your favorite restaurant know you by name?
They know Hubby and his co-workers over at On The Border because they go twice a week or so for lunch! Otherwise, they sometimes recognize us but really have no idea what the name is. What irritates me most is when they exclaim, “You’re brother and sister, aren’t you?” No, we’re an old married couple who has come to look alike. People grow to look like their pets and their spouses after twenty-plus years, didn’t you know? Someday I’ll probably just smile and quote, “Vice is nice, but incest is best!”* It gets tiring to JUST smile when they say that EVERY time we come in and I correct them. Yes, I’m a fat ugly old hag of a slob failure and I couldn’t POSSIBLY be married because I am such a loser, but hey, guess what, I *AM* married, and he’s such a good breadwinner that we actually want for very little, and I don’t have to work like YOU do but get to waste my time writing and waiting on my little old lady hand and foot, and he actually supports me AND my mother, whom he cordially dislikes, the poor man, but HEY, see the hand? It wears a ring. Sheesh.

* Shouted at showings of “Rocky Horror Picture Show.” See, Riff-Raff and Magenta are brother and sister. It’s like in the Ring Cycle. My husband and I are not related, not even 25th cousins. Oh, never mind.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

