Michael Nesmith Plays Marfa, TX–tonight

Michael Nesmith Plays Marfa, TX! It’ll be a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Meteor shower forecast for tonight, visible there, as well.

How I wish we could be there! It’s a LONG way from D/FW, though. And I have the Two Crankies who say it would be silly. Their musical tastes don’t include any ex-Monkees.

Hubby has been home for a couple of days on vacation. It was our 27th anniversary yesterday. (I was a child bride. 12. That’s the age I would have to have been in order to be the age I claim I am now.) He gets less cranky and mean the longer he stays away from the people at his job–I think he’s one of those persons who becomes like the people they hang around with, which is okay except when he works with a bunch of cranky cynics–and he was almost NICE today. We went out for lunch AND dinner. But Mama woke up with reflux and chest pain issues, and panicked. That meant she went with us on the excursion to get his anniversary present, and he had to wait a half hour before we could take her and puppy back home and go out to lunch ourselves. He doesn’t realize that, yes, she IS fragile and is NOT inventing her various limitations and ailments. He will always think of her as Hercules because she always played that Superwoman role. If she falters at all, he thinks she’s “ready for the home.” She thinks he’s mean to me and that we deserve to bail out and go live in Carmel with her hero Clint Eastwood. (Clint, are you listening? Are you open to two fat ladies moving in with their yappy Pomeranian and Frank Sinatra albums?) It really tears me apart because when they get me alone (or think they have me out of the other’s earshot), it’s constant tearing-apart and blathering about how bad the other is. Does not help that one is a foaming conservative (he’s misguided–again, the co-workers and the influence of the angry crowd) and one is a screaming lifelong liberal who would be doing a sit-in on “Occupy Everything” and waving any sign they wanted her to. They get into it and SHOUT when I’m standing between them. The dog just whines and covers his face. I have to cope with it, sigh.

I wanted to go somewhere on a little road trip this week, but neither of them would tolerate the other on an overnight trip, and each had a different destination in mind. The loonybin is a possibility for me, soon, but not really quiet enough. And the dog doesn’t deserve to go there (I am the ONLY one who takes care of him, takes him out, feeds him, and the like–the other two are too occupied waiting for me to wait on them, ha.)

He returned the present I got him, BTW, in order to get the one he got. I had gotten him one of those induction chargers that supposedly charges your iPhone and all that, as he has both a Droid phone and an iPhone along with everything else. But he thought it was not ideal, as he charges most of his stuff on his computer. So . . . he had something else in mind.

For the past year, his boss and workplace have been vacillating between “Our product is about to take off” and “Doom and gloom, get your resume ready,” so he has been on a roller coaster. Finally on Tuesday, he was called in from vacation to be in a meeting with a bigwig who flew down from headquarters. His boss is now his former boss, having taken another position within the company, and the big boss says he’s going to map out a new plan for the group that will be a two-year development deal. They are all putting in for security clearances. Mama was completely tanked that day because she didn’t trust them–she expected the guy to issue pink slips–but even she thinks that this guy must be for real, and we’re going to trust that this all goes well. So hubby has done a flip-flop from “we can’t afford all this toilet paper–use only one square” to “I deserve a good present.”

All that is background so you can understand why he would go to a computer store and buy himself a $500 tablet (charging it on his credit card, but still! House needs painting and new flooring and etc., etc.!) It was on sale . . . for $425. And it seems to have made him so happy. He kept asking if I liked it (I hope that isn’t because he thinks he should buy me one!) and showing me the features. A person does need a splurge once in a while.

I got two necklaces at the World Market and a new cable for my GPS so it’ll work in the van again. I really didn’t need anything. Except to lose weight and get a book contract and an agent, of course, but those things always GO WITHOUT SAYING. Hear me, Universe? (sound of raspberries in reply)

Seriously, I’m content if our current fairly good fortunes continue. But the two of them really do have to resolve their differences. It’s way too stressful for the Pom.

Author: shalanna

Shalanna: rhymes with "Madonna" and "I wanna," and is not a soundalike with "Hosanna" or "Sha-Na-Na." Aging hippie with long hair, husband, elderly mother, and yappy Pomeranian. I've been writing since I could hold a crayon. I started with fiction, which Mama said was "lying." “Don’t tell stories,” she would admonish, in Southern vernacular. “That's all in your imagination!” When grownups said this, they were not approving. So, shamed, I stopped telling stories for a few years--rather, I stopped letting anyone read them. I'm married to a fellow computer nerd who doesn't really like hearing about writing, but who reads sf/fantasy and understands the creative drive. I'm actually a nonconformist/hippie still wearing bluejeans and drop earrings and the Alice-in-Wonderland hair with headbands and sandals. Favorite flavor is chocolate/orange, favorite color is either Dreamsicle orange (cantaloupe) or bubble-gum pink, favorite musical is either Bye Bye Birdie, Rocky Horror, or The Producers . . . wait, I also love The Music Man. Is this getting way too specific and irrelevant yet? Obvious why I don't sell a ton of flash fiction, isn't it? To define oneself, I always say, it is good to make a list. How about a booklist? Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird Frank and Ernestine Gilbreth, Cheaper by the Dozen C.S.Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (all the Narnia books) J.R.R.Tolkien,The Hobbit/LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy Gail Godwin, The Odd Woman F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby J. D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye (before dismissing it, actually read it) George Orwell, 1984 Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle Donna Tartt, The Secret History Mark Twain, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn James Allen, As A Man Thinketh Mark Winegardner, Elvis Presley Boulevard James Thurber, My Life and Hard Times The Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum Winnie-the-Pooh/House at Pooh Corner, A. A. Milne Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie The KJV and NIV Bible (each translation has its glories)

Leave a Reply

